Skip to content

Making The Move | GBGV

May 28, 2013

moving wp site

It is time for me to be serious. Mom has been talking about moving my blog from WordPress.com to a self hosted site since last fall but has been afraid to do it and has been putting it off. Blogpaws somehow kicked her in the behind and she has decided that we are tired of the limitations and it is time to move to a self hosted site. Now if you know mom you would understand that when she decides to do something it is NOW.Β  This means that in the coming days we will be switching to a self hosted site. I am the dog in charge of the actual move which is scary in itself! WordPress.com is great but as you can see from the moving boxes, a self hosted site gives us a lot more GBGV wiggle butt room πŸ™‚

When I started my blog it was just for fun and kind of a test to see what all goes on with blogs and social media but it did not take long to discover that I really liked blogging and everything else that goes along with it. I have a WordPress.com site because it is free and easy and if I decided to quit, nothing was lost. Now that I have found out how much I enjoy my blog and all my readers, it is time to move on up to the self hosted site that will give me more options many of which mom figured out (without me, still a bit angry about that) at Blogpaws. Some of the most fun things I want to do right away is to add some badges and linky lists…I could not do that with WordPress.com. The more comfortable I get with the self hosted unlimited options the more brave I will get…I sure hope anyway!

No need to worry…I am doing the worrying for everyone…believe me I am nervous about the move but I am sure things will be fine! I am not revamping my site, so many of you may not even notice the change, but over time I may start changing things up a bit. The site may be down for a brief time this week, but never fear, it will be back! If you subscribe to my blog your subscription is automatically transferred so you will continue to get my posts just comment reply notifications may not transfer. My url will remain the same as well http://MyGBGVLife.comΒ  I may not post again until the end of the week when I hopefully have everything moved to my new self hosted site. Cross your paws that my big paws don’t hit the wrong key, but I will do my doggy best to get things switched and running as soon as possible!

Thank you to all my readers and followers for stopping by my site and I look forward to barking and growling with you again in a day or two or three!

67 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2013 06:22

    Good luck with the move!

  2. mollieandalfie permalink
    May 28, 2013 06:23

    Good luck Em, we have WP self hosting but our compawter guy sorted it all out, wez don’t do techno stuff.. Hugs xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  3. May 28, 2013 06:25

    Good luck and can’t wait to see it! Mama been working on upgrading mine from Squarespace 5 to 6 for almost 2 weeks. Turns out it a lot harder than she thought! She growls a lot but say it be worth it in the end iffen the end ever gets here…

    • May 28, 2013 06:27

      It will look the same, I hope, but we can start making changes slowly once it is switched.

  4. May 28, 2013 06:28

    Best wishes for your new adventures – we’ll look forward to their success with you!

    • May 28, 2013 06:30

      Thanks…I am one nervous dog but I am sure it will work out…how hard can it be anyway??? πŸ˜‰

  5. dogloverofmax@gmail.com permalink
    May 28, 2013 06:50

    You’re brave! I can barely function now so I can’t imagine self hosting! πŸ˜‰

  6. May 28, 2013 07:07

    you are wise to make the move! For anyone wanting to monetize their blog it CANNOT be done with WordPress. I do have Cat Chat on blogger and can use linky lists and post widgets, but I have free WordPress for Dakota’s and can’t do ANY of that. I have been contemplating moving his as well, but not now. I will one day. Your move will be fine!! GOOD LUCK!!

  7. May 28, 2013 07:32

    oooh we have been planning such a move too.
    Not quite ready yet, but I’m hoping to get that done soon.
    It is a bit scary!

    • May 28, 2013 10:22

      It is very scary but we are taking the plunge and my paws are in charge!

  8. Ellen Shedlarz permalink
    May 28, 2013 08:10

    Good luck and hurry back.. Katie and I will miss you!

    • May 28, 2013 10:22

      I hope to only be gone for a day or two but the site should still be up, just nothing new.

  9. May 28, 2013 08:29

    Good Luck! I’m sure it will go smoothly and you will be back in no time at all!

  10. May 28, 2013 09:01

    Congratulations on the move! Good luck too, such big steps!!

    • May 28, 2013 10:23

      This is a scary one but in a couple days we hope to be back to normal!

  11. May 28, 2013 09:28

    Hope it all goes smoothly Ems, good luck with it all!

  12. jank1961 permalink
    May 28, 2013 10:09

    Good luck, Emma! I think it is great you are making this change. I started out self hosted because that was the advice I read to do. It wasn’t super easy, but I was proud of myself when I had it done. I was starting totally from scratch, you may already be familiar with some things that will make it easier for you.

    • May 28, 2013 10:26

      Mom works on some self hosted sites for work, so it isn’t all new but moving is the hard part, don’t want to lose anything!

  13. jank1961 permalink
    May 28, 2013 10:11

    Oh, and meant to say that if I could do it, anybody can, because I am far from being computer savvy! πŸ™‚

    • May 28, 2013 10:27

      Mom is pretty good but she says the problem is that she knows a lot which includes what can go wrong and that is the scary part.

  14. Beagles and Bargains permalink
    May 28, 2013 11:03

    Good Luck! You can do it! Let me know if you need any help getting set up!

    • May 28, 2013 12:29

      I think mom and I will just close our eyes and hit the button and poof…it will be done…that is how it sounds in the instructions πŸ˜‰

  15. May 28, 2013 11:15

    Onwards and upwards! Good luck on the move and we’ll see you on the other side.

  16. May 28, 2013 12:02

    Good luck with the move. It will be worth it! I made the switch and had paid WordPress to migrate the site for me. I hadn’t resized my photos on WP.com so everything was messed up when they transferred over and it took a lot of time to fix. Other than that, there were no issues.

    • May 28, 2013 12:31

      Hmmm…I resize all my pics to 800×533, I hope that will work, I am not real thrilled about having to go through all the posts and redoing the pics but I guess I will know in a day or two when it is switched. I am looking forward to having more freedom!

  17. FleaByte permalink
    May 28, 2013 12:16

    You’re going to love it. πŸ™‚ I use WordPress self hosting and it ROCKS. And when are you going to start selling greeting cards with your dressed up Emma?

    • May 28, 2013 12:32

      After mom’s tummy gets done being a mess from moving the website πŸ˜‰ I do have some cards with me dressed up in my store already.

      • FleaByte permalink
        May 28, 2013 18:00

        Yay! Are you marketing yourself? They’re so CUTE!

      • May 28, 2013 20:51

        I try, but don’t like to be pushy. I need to find a store or someone that would buy some of the better ones but this is all new, so have to make connections.

  18. May 28, 2013 12:46

    You’re going to love self-hosted WordPress! I made the move a few months ago and have no regrets. Very steep learning curve though.

    • May 28, 2013 13:27

      Mom works on some self hosted sites for her job, so it won’t be all new. Just have to first and foremost set up a backup system and make sure things are secure, then we can play.

  19. May 28, 2013 12:56

    I’m not a WordPress user, but I’ve heard the switch can be scary! We wish you luck with everything! πŸ™‚

    • May 28, 2013 13:29

      Oh great…as if my paws weren’t jittery enough already! We figure it is done all the time and haven’t heard too many nightmares so by Thurs we hope to be all settled and if not…then you know…it went bad!

  20. May 28, 2013 13:15

    Sounds daunting. Moving is never fun is it? Good luck and hope all goes smoothly!

    • May 28, 2013 13:30

      Actually, moving as in a new house we really enjoy but this kind of thing is very scary!

  21. May 28, 2013 16:06

    Good Luck Emma hope everything goes smoothly and we see you back shortly πŸ™‚

  22. May 28, 2013 16:44

    So excited for you and your momma Emma, will have to add your new addy to my blogfeed now! Unless you decide to stick with the wordpress layout?

    • May 28, 2013 17:15

      I am staying with wordpress and the same layout I have now. I may change things up a bit as I get used to the new options and one day I may do a whole new theme but we like wordpress. Mom has 3 different WP sites for her job, so we like to keep it all in the family simple πŸ˜‰

  23. May 28, 2013 18:43

    Happy moving! We did the same thing awhile back and we are sure glad we did!

    • May 28, 2013 20:52

      Thanks. Once I see that everything works as self hosted I will feel much better!

  24. May 28, 2013 21:38

    Oh good luck Emma! You will like the freedom of self-hosted blogging. I moved my blog there once, but went back to blogger in the end. Blogger still seems to have more capabilities than WP.com though.

  25. May 29, 2013 03:30

    OOO I can’t wait to chat with you on your new site!

  26. May 29, 2013 03:30

    I was so scared of doing this, but i bit the bullet and moved my site one weekend. It’s actually much, much easier than you think. And OMG SOOOOO liberating!! You’ll love it.

    • May 29, 2013 17:36

      We are excited! Once it is up and running and we have time to mess with it we will have fun. It is the same site for now, just self hosted.

  27. goldenwoofs permalink
    May 29, 2013 06:59

    It will be GOOD! Wish you all the LUCK … πŸ™‚ Golden Woofs!

    • May 29, 2013 17:40

      On the new server now, so far just twitter is not working right but I have to keep searching and then we can start planning some changes.

  28. May 29, 2013 08:42

    Good luck, Emma!!!

  29. peggyspetplace permalink
    May 29, 2013 09:24

    Good luck! I know you’ll do great once all the wrinkles are ironed out.

    • May 29, 2013 17:39

      So far, so good, just my twitter feed is messed up but that is not so important.

  30. May 29, 2013 16:32

    Good luck with the move! Sounds like you have a good plan, and hopefully it will be a seamless transition. If not, just blame it on your mom. πŸ™‚

    • May 29, 2013 17:39

      It is mom’s plan, so she is to blame but I am on the new self hosted server now and it seems good except for my twitter feed.

  31. May 29, 2013 16:53

    Fingers and paws crossed here that the move goes well. Looking forward to seeing what changes you have planned! Good luck!

    • May 29, 2013 17:38

      Right off, nothing much will change but once we get used to things we will make some switches.

  32. May 31, 2013 07:56

    I think you’ll do just fine Emma, the self-hosted gives you so many more options than the free one does. Blog hops, advertisements, giveaways why the possibilities are endless. If you need any help, feel free to drop me an e-mail, if I don’t have the answer, I can probably connect you to someone who does!

    • May 31, 2013 08:57

      We are there and pretty happy so far! For the first time we could actually have the linky list for the blog hop so that is a major fun accomplishment. In time when we have more time we will be playing around more and more.

  33. October 13, 2013 09:08

    Best of luck. Our Mom is too afraid to try being outside the WordPress world. We will follow you wherever you go though, Emma. Because you are so darn cute. – Louise, Sofie, Noel, Nine, Stella of DogDaz

  34. November 10, 2013 13:00

    Your Mom is so brave–mine has talked about doing the same, but needs that kick in the rear. Are you staying with WordPress? Good luck with it!

    • November 10, 2013 13:11

      Yes, we love WP and wouldn’t switch to anything else that is out there right now. The conferences Mom has gone to have all backed WP too.

  35. November 17, 2013 18:57

    Oh Emma – Your mom is SO much braver than me. I have considered it many times, but always chickened out. I just don’t have the time to spare in managing a self-hosted site much less learning how to handle the process. I admire your mom and wish you both luck. Of course, with you in charge I am sure it will go just fine. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

