Skip to content

Bad Beans | GBGV | Monday Mischief

April 8, 2013
The crime scene - staged

The crime scene – staged

Boy oh boy did I find myself in the dog house the day after Easter. My hound nose and my sweet tooth led me astray and I ended up in the slammer!

Mom likes jellybeans.  She buys them every year at Easter time and has them in a bowl on the living room coffee table so she can munch on them when she is watching tv or just passing by.  Most years she has a bowl of them out for 3 weeks or so. I have gotten curious and sniffed in that direction but I have never eaten a

Crime reenactment

Crime reenactment

jellybean.

Easter Monday, 2013…was a new day for me! Mom was gone for about an hour but shortly before she left she refilled her jellybean bowl so it was really full with the last beans for this year. The devil spoke to me at some point and I could not help myself…all of the sudden I was walking towards the coffee table where the innocent jellybeans lie sleeping in their bowl. I put my paws up on the table, moved my nose to the bowl and tried one. Wow, they were really

The original packaging

The original packaging

yummy! I decided to just toss the entire bowl and its contents onto the floor so I could sit comfortably and munch them all down.

Unfortunately, when I was really in the thick of jellybean enjoyment mom came home. Katie went to greet her, I did not…she knew immediately something was wrong.  Then she found me in the middle of all the jellybeans looking so guilty but I did not stop eating. I figured I am caught, I may as well polish off as many as possible.

Me in the "slammer"

Me in the “slammer”

Mom went into panic as she did not know if they were harmful for me or not since she never had a dog eat them before.  First she put me in jail, then she proceeded to scoop up was left to try to determine how many I had eaten. She figured I had eaten about one cup of them which is a lot for my 40 lbs. Next she called the emergency vet since it was after 6 pm to ask what she needed to do.  Luckily, they said I would just have a tummy ache, maybe throw up and maybe have the runs.

Mom was quite relieved they were not poison for me but she was not happy with me so I was stuck in jail for quite some time. When I finally got out of jail I raced back to the crime scene and started scooping out more jellybeans from under the couch. Mom had a fit as she did not look under the couch! She then got them all out from under the couch and fully expected to be up with a sick Emma all night. Amazingly, I had no side effects other than drinking down the entire bowl of water, I mean not one drop was left.

I am now looking forward to next Easter as these jellybeans are super tasty and I sure don’t know why I never tried them until this year!

***the photos are of a staged crime scene, at the time of the original crime mom was in too much of a panic to take photos***

Monday-Mischief-Button-150x150-pxWelcome to Monday Mischief – The pet blog hop that wraps up the weekend! This Blog Hop is brought to you by Alfie’s BlogSnoopy’s Dog BlogMy Brown Newfies and Luna, A Dog’s Life

65 Comments leave one →
  1. mollieandalfie permalink
    April 8, 2013 06:26

    Oh Em, totally busted.. I had a jelly bean once that accidentally fell on the floor.. That sure was fantastic mischievous..I do hope you didn’t get the squirts or tummy ache..Bawahhaaaaa xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • April 8, 2013 08:32

      Mom says I have an iron stomach, nothing seems to bother me!

  2. April 8, 2013 06:37

    Oh your poor mom. Totally can relate to the panic. We can’t leave anything out and with Freighter even throw rugs are not safe. Of course I had to chuckle at your story (sorry mom). The re-staged pictures say it all!

    • April 8, 2013 08:34

      She has things like chocolate always put away but since my sister and I never bother “normal candy”, she always has it out…but no more. I ate throw rugs as a puppy but got over that.

  3. April 8, 2013 07:22

    Be glad you slipped up with Jelly Beans. My first year, I got into the Christmas chocolate and had to get a bum shot. I’ve been warning Katy ever since she got here that chocolate equals painful bum.

    Glad you are OK.

    • April 8, 2013 08:34

      Chocolate is bad…mom always has that locked up. Glad you were ok.

  4. Ellen Shedlarz permalink
    April 8, 2013 07:31

    Emma- you need to be careful. Although they taste good they could have hurt you. Now that I have said the responsible thing, I have to tell you that was the best post ever. You are so funny.

    • April 8, 2013 08:35

      I know, mom said it was a super dumb move but I just did not care, they were yummy 🙂 and I am a goofball!

  5. Roxy the Traveling Dog permalink
    April 8, 2013 08:27

    Oh no Emma, I’m sure glad you didn’t get sick. And I bet they were super tasty, and worth the jail time.

  6. April 8, 2013 08:55

    Oh Emma, a page out of The Red Man’s book!! Yummy, yummy, yummy…glad you didn’t have any outrageous side effects! Happy Belated Easter!!

    • April 8, 2013 09:50

      Mom said if it did come back out the front or back it would have at least been colorful 🙂

  7. Pat permalink
    April 8, 2013 09:44

    ha ha , smiling heree Emma , hey you and I like Jelly Beans . good taste Emma . I’m glad you didnt get ill .ha

    • April 8, 2013 09:51

      I think I should sit around WITH mom and munch some down next year…so yummy!

  8. snoopys@snoopysdogblog permalink
    April 8, 2013 09:54

    Hey Emma,

    That was impressive mischief buddy – love how you didn’t share them with Katie, you’re funny!! Shame about the jail thing, guess it was worth it! And I’m super glad you didn’t have a sore tummy! 🙂

    Big wags,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • April 8, 2013 12:21

      Katie is a goody two shoes, would never do such a thing…and is also a tattle tail!

  9. Elvis permalink
    April 8, 2013 09:59

    jelly beans are good. My human eats gummy bears and Popsicle we have them all the time. But Easter is always the best time for candy. the last few years kinda sucked cause we got the same stuff baby snacks. But this year we got Peeps they are yummy. Our girl is very clumsy lucky for us she spills everything. My Mom use to worry but what ever the girl gets my Mom always makes sure it is ok for us to eat too! Like my Mom never buys grapes or chocolate for the girl because she knows we will be sick. We get carrots and veggies that are ok for all of us. I know people say not to give us that kind of stuff. But it is hard for my Mom to be yelling all the time so she has to just make sure it is just a little bit of human food.

    • April 8, 2013 12:23

      My sister loves gummi bears and red licorice, but I just spit it out, so mom was really shocked that I liked jelly beans! I am not big on veggies but Katie loves them. We get human food from mom a lot but not sweets usually.

  10. FleaByte permalink
    April 8, 2013 10:41

    BWAHAHAHAHA! Oh Emma. You naughty, naughty dog. Too much candy is bad for dogs and kids. But jelly beans are so YUMMY!

    • April 8, 2013 12:24

      Hmmm…seems to me that most of my readers are on my side. I better show mom these comments, maybe she will share with me next year so I don’t have to steal!

  11. April 8, 2013 11:34

    You were just being curious and needed to see what all the fuss was about right? I’m sure glad you didn’t get sick though, that wouldn’t be fun at all!

    • April 8, 2013 12:24

      It would have been colorful but not fun…I have a strong tummy.

  12. April 8, 2013 12:10

    Never a dull moment with you! Lucky you’re cute!

  13. barkandchatter permalink
    April 8, 2013 12:21

    That is great mischief, Emma, and totally understandable! And having guts o’ steel is one of a dog’s greatest blessings in life!

    • April 8, 2013 12:25

      My sister gets tummy issues just looking at the wrong thing, so I consider myself lucky!

  14. April 8, 2013 12:30

    Oh boy Emma! You got caught right in the act! You ate a whole cup of jelly beans? Wow! I hope your tummy is feeling ok now. I bet you had colorful poop 🙂

    • April 8, 2013 15:17

      Mom was amazed that I was not sick, just really thirsty and some colorful poop later on but nothing like the bright stuff cat bro Bert had after eating ribbon of Christmas packages! That made for the most colorful litter box ever!

  15. April 8, 2013 13:33

    Oh, Emma, I love jelly beans too. I don’t think I could handle a whole cup of them though. I’m amazed your tummy is feeling okay! I also wondered if you had rainbow poop…. Glad you are feeling good! I guess Mom learned a lesson – even if you didn’t. 🙂

    • April 8, 2013 15:18

      I was just enjoying what I could before the parental unit returned and sentenced me to jail time 🙂

  16. April 8, 2013 13:39

    Oh Emma! It sounds like you were channeling your inner Delilah! LOL She ate 3/4 pound of butter once, wrappers and all. Drank a whole bunch of water and vomited up a tiny bit of foam.

    Thank goodness mom likes jellybeans instead of chocolate. 🙂 Hope you are feeling better!!

    • April 8, 2013 15:19

      Mom loves chocolate too but she knows that needs to be locked up 🙂 I sure was thirsty, though!

  17. April 8, 2013 14:13

    Oh Emma…I’d never have expected this…you must have been possessed by that evil “Some Other Dog”…you know the one who sneaks in and gets us good dogs in trouble…I am very glad your tummy was OK after all those JB’s…(PS pretty clever to hide some under the couch for later…i used to do that with peanut butter M&M’s)

    • April 8, 2013 15:19

      Oh boy, PB M&M’s would be really bad…hope you have given up on them!

  18. April 8, 2013 18:47

    Now that I know you’re ok can I just say “staged” crime scene is hilarious! First she punishes you then she puts you right smack in the middle of more jelly beans for a photo op. Mama will be so happy she’s not the only one dogs think are crazy!

    • April 8, 2013 19:27

      You know, now that you mention it, mom is a bit odd isn’t she? Oh well, I know she loves me, that’s the main thing!

  19. April 9, 2013 01:45

    This is Purrime Ministerettes.

    Jelly beans no good for you. But as we always at your service, we hereby veto you being in jail. She no has right!

  20. April 9, 2013 03:23

    I am so pleased to hear there was no ill effects – I was very worried reading it that there would be! Why do they always come back mid incident rather than at the end??

  21. dogloverofmax@gmail.com permalink
    April 9, 2013 05:40

    After I got to the part that Emma was ok, I was cracking up laughing, especially about the staged crime scene! You are just too funny! Just what I need to read to start my day! Poor Emma locked up in doggy jail doin’ hard time…are you SURE that some evil cat didn’t pour the jellybeans on the floor and force feed them to poor, innocent Emma? Max is pretty certain that’s what really happened! Mysterious Cat probably threw some under the couch too and sling-shot them into the wrongly convicted Emma’s mouth too! Again, going off of Max’s personal experience on the evils of Cat Frame-Ups! 🙂 Have a great today!

    • April 9, 2013 06:17

      My cat Bert does a good job of framing me but this time I was really caught red-pawed and since I went back to the scene of the crime later to retrieve more from under the couch, the case against me is pretty tight 😦

  22. April 9, 2013 08:53

    Jellybean Jail?!?! I never heard of that, and it doesn’t sound fair at all!!!

  23. April 9, 2013 10:33

    Oh no Emma!!! That was bad 🙂 but VERY VERY FUNNY 🙂 🙂 Thanks for making me smile you little sweetie!

    • April 9, 2013 13:12

      Well, a girl can’t always be good…and I sure did surprise mom, she never expected me to eat jellybeans!

  24. April 9, 2013 15:14

    Phew!!! So glad they are not bad for you…and since they weren’t….then hey…why not? We all like to pig out from time to time. 🙂

    • April 9, 2013 15:22

      I like your attitude…maybe I should move out and come live with you…well, maybe not, I love my mom and fur siblings, can’t move out because of just one incident!

  25. April 9, 2013 15:24

    Oh Emma! You were a naughty puppy–I’m glad you’re all right and that you didn’t get a tummy ache.

    • April 9, 2013 18:40

      Thanks, they did not bother me at all so I did not really learn any lesson on that crime!

  26. April 9, 2013 15:32

    Emma…I cannot believe you would get into mischief with jellybeans. Not that I would know if they are delicious or not because I have never had one (Ma doesn’t buy them). *sighs* Maybe next Easter I need to get Ma some jellybeans for a gift so I can have a taste.
    *high paws*
    Oz

    • April 9, 2013 18:41

      Mom likes candy and she only buys those at Easter. I don’t know why I decided to try them last week, We have them every year and I was never interested before, who knows!

  27. April 9, 2013 17:32

    Lucky you didn’t get sick, Emma and I can understand your Mom’s panic. Now that you’ve developed a taste for jelly beans, I guess she’ll have to leave them somewhere out of your reach. Very mischievous, little girl! 😀

    • April 9, 2013 18:41

      I know, she is bummed because she never had to hide the beans before but now she will 🙂

  28. April 9, 2013 22:06

    BOL! Oh Emma, it could always be worse! This might help get you out of the dog house… http://talesandtails.com/?p=740 Jelly beans aren’t the only thing that’s good at Easter! You should try those Peeps!

    Bunny

    • April 10, 2013 06:16

      Wow, glad I did not have any side effects but at least you had colorful byproducts. Mom had some peeps but she had them locked up so they would not dry out, maybe I will hunt for them next year 🙂

  29. April 10, 2013 05:34

    Oh no! lol, glad miss Emma was okay, and though you might hate me for it, your enjoyment was spoiled! :p. I also found Kirby today knocking over his hair trimmmings I had recently put in our washroom’s waste bin. He for some reason like to rescue “his hair” from it, and hide it somewhere…..O_O

  30. April 10, 2013 14:49

    I’m glad you were okay and didn’t suffer – apart from being put in jail, that is!

  31. April 10, 2013 15:24

    Glad you were okay but know you enjoyed the jelly beans! We bet they were really, really good!

  32. April 13, 2013 09:45

    Jelly beans sound yummy! I would’ve done the same in your paws Ems!

Leave a Reply

