Skip to content

Thanksgiving Dessert For The Dog | GBGV

November 20, 2012

Getting the pie crust all rolled out.

Thanksgiving is coming up with lots and lots of tasty food and lots of humans stuffing themselves.  What about us dogs?  I was going to bake some cookies with pumpkin for today’s post but then my friend at Adventures of a Dog Mom posted such a cool dessert I had to try making it and since it was so yummy I have to share it.

Remember, your puppy dogs don’t eat like humans, so you can’t just give them some of everything you are serving.  A little turkey

Lookin’ and smellin’ absolutely great!

meat if it is plain is ok, but keep anything with the onions away from us dogs.  Also, we don’t do well with fatty foods like butter, cream, etc, so keep that away from us too.  We also should not indulge in your human pumpkin pie.  Since I know mom will cook up the turkey giblets for us for the main course, I want to make these mini pumpkin pies for Katie and I for dessert.  I tried the recipe from Adventures of a Dog Mom and it was super easy and even more tasty.

The finished tasty product !

Simply add the ingredients for the crust together in a mixing bowl or food processor.  Mom had me mix it all with my paws.  Spray down 2 sheets of wax paper with no stick spray, put the crust dough in the middle and roll it out to about 1/8″ thick and then cut it into 3-4″ circles depending on the size of your muffin tin.  Put the circles in the muffin form and push them in until they are in there like a pie crust, toss in the oven for 8 minutes, remove and cool.  If you own a cat like my cat bro Bert, make sure he does not steal the pie shells!

Next just add the pumpkin at room temperature, a good tablespoon per pie and then add a small spoon of plain yogurt to the top.

Eating is the best part…I licked the yogurt off mine first and then ate the rest.  They are inexpensive, fast, easy and so yummy in the tummy!  Give you pups some pie this Thanksgiving, they will love you for it!

Click here for a printable PDF of the recipe.

  Today I am joining the Tasty Tuesday Blog Hop sponsored by Kol and Sugar and

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2012 06:41

    I’m glad the recipe was a hit in your house too!

  2. November 20, 2012 06:55

    Saw this one yesterday over on Emily’s blog…it’s definitely a winner…glad you shared it *snoogles*

  3. November 20, 2012 06:57

    Ems you are such a great cook!

    • November 20, 2012 08:50

      Thanks – love to cook cuz it means I get to eat something tasty 😉

  4. mollieandalfie permalink
    November 20, 2012 07:13

    Wow, I’m gonna have to start cooking, then I can make the treats I like 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. November 20, 2012 08:50

    That was a great recipe you tried! Sounds like a wonderful Thanksgiving dessert!

  6. November 20, 2012 10:43

    You should have your own TV cook show – you’d be great.

    • November 20, 2012 10:55

      Mom wants me to make a baking book, just have to figure out how to do it, then I can go on tv with my book and recipes 🙂

  7. goldenwoofs permalink
    November 20, 2012 11:50

    Woof! Woof! Absolutely! Eating is the best part. LOVE LOVE LOVE Pumpkins. Happy Tasty Tuesday. Golden Thanks for sharing and joining the hop. Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

  8. November 21, 2012 08:38

    You make it look so easy!

  9. November 21, 2012 12:38

    Hey Emma, Jet here. Hi Katie.

    We saw that, too… great Turkey Day tips and of course, the BEST photos! 🙂

    Enjoy your holiday.

  10. FleaByte permalink
    November 21, 2012 15:20

    I saw her recipe yesterday and it looks good! Sadly, I used my pumpkin to make a human pie for a pot luck. Fortunately, I have a couple of pumpkins in the cupboard waiting to be baked and pureed!

  11. November 21, 2012 15:53

    Ohhhh…. those look good! Mama makes a pumpkin pie with a chicken crust that we like, but we’ve never tried it with oats!

  12. snoopys@snoopysdogblog permalink
    November 22, 2012 13:50

    Hey Emma,

    Katie sure is lucky having such a great Doggie Chef for a sister!! I wish my Mum was as good at baking as you – I need to get her to try harder!! 🙂

    Have a lovely day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

Leave a Reply

